Over 150 Years of Service to the Furniture Industry

 Furniture World Logo

IHFRA Announces 2020 FIAG Honorees

Furniture World News


The International Home Furnishings Representatives Association (IHFRA) has announced its honorees for the 25th annual Furniture Industry Awards Gala (FIAG).

The Gala, set for April 24, 2020, will be held at the Koury Convention Center here, and will feature a “Golden Era of Hollywood” theme.

According to IHFRA Executive Director Ray Allegrezza, “When one looks at this year’s star-studded group of honorees, a Hollywood theme was the perfect backdrop for this year’s celebration.”

Shan Huei “Samuel” Kuo, co-founder and chairman of Samson Holding, Ltd.,  will receive the Pillar of the Industry award, Andrew Koenig, president of Top 100 City Furniture, will be presented with the Retailer of the Year Award,  Kathy Ireland, Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and Chief Designer of Kathy Ireland Worldwide, will receive the coveted Icon Award, industry veteran Kevin O’Connor, who currently serves as a consultant to Samuel Kuo of Samson Holding, will receive a Lifetime Achievement Award, Geoff Weed, former IHFRA president and longtime rep for Ashley Furniture, will be presented with the Distinguished Service Award, Marty Libowsky will receive the Legacy Rep Award and Joseph Montero will receive the Rising Star Award.

The Pillar of the Industry Award, to be presented to Samuel Kuo, is given to an industry leader who has distinguished him or herself with creative work and effort to improve, enhance and benefit relationships among industry reps and other segments of the industry.  Through their actions and deeds the recipient has shown his or her commitment to the home furnishings industry and to mankind.

In receiving IHFRA’s Retailer of the Year Award, Andrew Koenig will be recognized as a retailer who has clearly distinguished himself through superior industry leadership, business achievement and service to his community. This award is the highest honor given by IHFRA to a member of the retail community.

In receiving the Icon Award, Kathy Ireland, Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and Chief Designer of Kathy Ireland Worldwide, will be recognized as an individual who has made constant and significant contributions to the industry during the course of her career. The award also recognizes Kathy’s history of selfless acts, service, leadership and countless instances of mentoring the industry’s future leaders.

The Lifetime Achievement Award, which will go to Kevin O’Connor, honors and recognizes outstanding and ongoing leadership and contributions to the industry.  This award, IHFRA’s highest honor to an individual, also salutes a lifetime of dedication, innovation and  charitable efforts which have enriched and bettered the home furnishings sector.

The Distinguished Service Award, which will be presented to Geoff Weed,  marks IHFRA’s highest honor bestowed to a member of organization.  The recipient of the DSA is a sales rep who embodies certain qualities and character, and has distinguished himself or herself on behalf of IHFRA to sales representatives and to the industry.

The Legacy Award, which will be presented to industry veteran Marty Libowsky, is given to a rep who has been on the road for 30 years or more, is still active and has established relationships that have lasted throughout the years.

The Rising Star Award, which will go to Joseph Montero, is given to a rep who has been on the road for five years or less and displays qualities that make him stand out to both their retailers and suppliers.

In keeping with the Golden Era of Hollywood theme, this year’s entertainment will be provided by Ron Rudkin’s Little Big Band, an eight-piece ensemble that will favor attendees with many of the era’s best loved music.

“Last year’s FIAG was a huge success and was completely sold out and we fully anticipate, especially with this year’s incredible list of honorees, to have that happen again,” said Allegrezza.

IHFRA will be sending out follow-up news regarding ticket sales, sponsorship opportunities and more.

For more information, visit the IHFRA website at www.ihfra.org or contact Bonnie Wallace at bwallace@ihfra.org or Ray Allegrezza at rallegrezza@ihfra.org.

Furniture Industry News and in depth magazine articles for the furniture retail, furniture manufacturers, and furniture distributors.
Read other articles by Nic Ledoux