Over 151 Years of Service to the Furniture Industry

 Furniture World Logo

ISFD 25th Anniversary Pinnacle Awards® Celebration Unites the Home “Community”

Furniture World News



Join the International Society of Furniture Designers (ISFD) as they celebrate the 25th anniversary of the Pinnacle Awards at the upcoming High Point Market.  This year’s celebration theme, “Community”, focuses on the many ways that the Pinnacle Awards bring designers, manufacturers, retailers, organizations, agencies, and the media together creating one cohesive community. The celebration will be held on Monday, October 18th at the COHAB. Space, 1547 W. English Rd in High Point from 6-9 pm. For ticket information visit isfd.org.


“The Pinnacle Awards are like the Academy Awards for home furnishings,” stated John Conrad, executive director. “They are our industries’ highest awards honoring the designers and manufacturers who reach beyond the ordinary to create the extraordinary. The celebration, held at COHAB.Space this year, provides a wonderful opportunity for designers, manufacturers, and retailers to network and reconnect with friends, colleagues, and industry veterans as they experience firsthand the latest home furnishings trends. We will also be serving wine, beer and heavy hors d’oeuvres. It is truly a celebration that you won’t want to miss.”

In keeping with the “Community” theme, the evening’s festivities will include co-Masters of Ceremonies Bill McLoughlin, editor in chief of Furniture Today and keynote speaker, Breegan Jane, globally acclaimed interior designer, HGTV television host and author.


Other representatives from various “Community” organizations will present the Pinnacle Awards. Those include: Ray Allegrezza, executive director IHFRA; Dawn Brinson, vice president strategic marketing, The Media Matters and president elect of IFDA; Andy Counts, CEO of American Home Furnishings Alliance; Jane Dagmi, editor in chief Designers Today and current ITA president;  Carrie Dillon, Managing Director of the International Textile Alliance; Diane Falvey, editor in chief, Furniture Lighting & Décor; Breegan Jane, Keynote/ co-Masters of Ceremonies; Lorri Kelley, Principal of Lorri Kelley Advisors and 2021 President of WithIt; Libby Langdon, owner Libby Interiors; Bob Maricich, CEO, IMC; Kaitlin Petersen, editor in chief, Business of Home; John Pinion, president of IHFRA’s executive committee; David Santiago, owner, interior designer, Casa Santi Interior Design; Mark Schumacher, CEO HFA.


Conrad added, “I would also like to thank the judging panel who represents an influential mix of high-profile industry leaders and innovators in our ‘Community’: Christi Barbour, founder & partner, Barbour Spangle Design; Diane Falvey, editor in chief, Furniture Lighting & Décor; John Gill, Haverty’s, EVP merchandising; Susan Inglis, executive director, Sustainable Furnishings Council; Gary Inman, principal designer owner and president, Gary Inman Interior Design; Char Miller King, woodshop teacher and content creator; Kaitlin Petersen, editor in chief, Business of Home; Jay Reardon, principal, Reardon Advisors; Dorian Stacy Sims, president, Stacy Furniture; Katherine Shoaf, director of merchandising and sales, Radiate Textile; Julie Talbert, merchandiser stylist, P/Kaufmann; Marcia Weiss, director, Fashion & Textiles Futures Center, director, Textile Design programs and the Harold Neuman Textile Design Chair at Jefferson (Philadelphia University + Thomas Jefferson University).”


The 2021 finalists, all professional product and furniture designers along with select design students, envision, and create the designs that ultimately become some of the most sought-after home furnishings items around the world.  Their works are produced and marketed by companies large and small, but with a common denominator—to proudly illustrate that artistry, craft, and innovation are important and quite saleable to the consumer marketplace. In some cases, winning a Pinnacle Award has helped launch design careers and elevated manufacturers to new levels of recognition. A list of all the finalists along with images of their products can be found here: 2021 Pinnacle Awards finalists.


The 2021 Pinnacle Awards are sponsored by the High Point Market Authority, International Market CentersContinental Hardware, Furniture Today, Pinnacle Financial Partners, Furniture Design Studios, Sherwin-Williams, and Elements Studios.



About The International Society of Furniture Designers

The International Society of Furniture Designers (ISFD) is an association advocating for outstanding design and the furniture designers whose creativity drives the industry’s engine. They seek to elevate the role of design and designer through networking, mentorship and professional development opportunities, and continuously promote, advance and support the profession of furniture design and its positive impact.

With professional and student members around the world and across the country, their diverse professional membership specializes in residential and contract furnishings and accessories. More information about ISFD and their awards programs, please visit their website, ISFD.org.  You can also follow them on Instagram, Facebook, YouTube, LinkedIn and Twitter.


Furniture Industry News and in depth magazine articles for the furniture retail, furniture manufacturers, and furniture distributors.
Read other articles by Nic Ledoux