Over 151 Years of Service to the Furniture Industry

 Furniture World Logo

American Furniture Hall Of Fame Foundation Inducts Four New Members Into The American Furniture Hall Of Fame

Furniture World News on

Stella and Darrell Harris, Manuel Capó and Bob Timberlake

Four industry leaders have been inducted into the American Furniture Hall of Fame. Joining 81 Hall of Fame members are Manuel Capó, former CEO of El Dorado Furniture; Darrell and Stella Harris, president and CEO and executive vice president of Furnitureland South; and Bob Timberlake, president of Bob Timberlake, Inc. 

 The international banquet was sold out and attended by over 400 retailers, buying group members, interior designers, manufacturers, suppliers and association leaders.  It was hosted by Jane Seymour, award-winning actress, author, artist and designer. 

“Each fall, we honor an elite group of Industry Fellows with induction into the Hall of Fame, the industry’s most prestigious and highest honor,” says Jeff Cook, president of the American Furniture Hall of Fame Foundation. “Selected by a vote of the members of the Foundation, they will forever be remembered for their contributions and passion for this industry. We congratulate each of them for achievements, innovation and generosity as they join the ranks of the Hall of Fame.”

Manuel Capó (b 1925 d 2009), grew his family business, El Dorado Furniture, into one of the top 50 of more than 35,000 furniture stores in the United States. As chief executive officer, he led the charge in exceptional customer service, targeting ethnic markets, offering same-day delivery, promoting the store as a brand and giving back to the community and industry. He created the unique concept of a “main street” with realistic building facades, old fashioned street lamps and benches opening into galleries. All seven of Capó’s sons worked side-by-side with him, along with 10 of his 20 grandchildren.

Darrell and Stella Harris (b 1943, b 1945), founded and have grown Furnitureland South into the world’s largest (1.3 million-sq.-ft.) retail furnishings showplace and an international furniture destination selling to consumers in more than 50 countries. Focused on adding value for the consumer, the family company has pioneered styled vignettes, a “green” gallery to promote sustainable practices, a national delivery team, and shopping amenities such as orientation movie theaters, a full-service restaurant, a coffee house and a lounge.

Bob Timberlake (b 1937), an internationally recognized artist who has become the brand, partnered with Lexington Home Brands in 1990 to create “The World of Bob Timberlake.” The coordinated lifestyle displays of his products include furniture, textiles, wall décor, floor coverings, lighting, tabletop, gifts, books and collectible items in 20 licensed categories. The groundbreaking success of his theme-based furniture collections reflect his sportsmanship, personality and love for his family and are cross marketed not only in furniture stores, but gift stores and many other distribution channels.  

The inductees were elected by members of the American Furniture Hall of Fame Foundation, Inc. based on detailed information about their professional achievements, personal standards and civic involvement.  The voting period began June 28 and ended July 30. Only members of the organization are eligible to nominate, second and vote.

Platinum level sponsors are headlined by Ashley Furniture Industries and Furniture Brands International.

Gold sponsors were: AICO; Art Van Furniture; El Dorado Furniture; Hickory Springs Manufacturing Company; International Home Furnishings Center; La-Z-Boy, Inc.; Leggett & Platt, Inc.; and Zenith Global Logistics.

Silver sponsors were: aspenhome; Berkshire Hathaway Furniture Companies; Culp, Inc.; Flexsteel Industries, Inc.; Furnitureland South; Kingsdown, Inc.; Klassner Home Furnishings; Schnadig International Corporation; and Vaughn Bassett Furniture, Inc.

Copper sponsors were: Bassett Furniture Industries; Carpenter Company; Comfort Solutions; Furniture Transport Group; Grand Home Furnishings; Haynes Furniture, Inc.; Havertys Furniture Companies; Home Meridian International; Hooker Furniture Corporation; L. & J. G. Stickley; Raymour & Flanigan Furniture; Restonic Mattress Corporation; RoomStore; Rooms To Go; Samson Marketing; Simmons Bedding Company; Stanley Furniture Company, Inc.; Stoney Creek Furniture; Steinreich Communications LLC; Therapedic, Inc.; and Watkins and Shepard Trucking, Inc.

The American Furniture Hall of Fame Foundation, Inc. is an international, industry-wide organization founded to honor those individuals whose outstanding achievements have contributed to the continued growth and development of the U.S. furniture industry, as well as to research, collect and preserve our cultural, economic and artistic history. Membership includes eligibility to vote for inductees into the American Furniture Hall of Fame, and the opportunity to help preserve the history and heritage of the industry.  The organization is based in High Point at 202 Neal Place, and can be reached at 336.882.5900.

Furniture World Magazine-Business solutions for furniture retailers