Over 151 Years of Service to the Furniture Industry

 Furniture World Logo

Deadline Approaching For Sage (Environmental Leadership) Award

Furniture World News on

The American Home Furnishings Alliance announced that there is still time for interested companies to submit an entry for the 2010 Sage Award. The deadline is midnight (EST) on Friday, November 5.

The entry form and entry guidelines are posted at www.SageAward.org. Manufacturers, retailers and suppliers to the residential furnishings and bedding industries are eligible to enter. The entry form is completed online and submitted via email.

Now in its third year, the Sage Award program gives industry-wide recognition to companies whose environmental leadership illuminates a pathway of improvement that others in the industry can follow. Companies applying for the award should be able to demonstrate both practical and innovative advances in reducing their environmental footprint and operating a sustainable business. The entry form also asks the company to describe efforts to expand its positive social impact and to remain a viable business into the future.

There is no cost to enter the Sage Award competition.

Up to three 2010 Sage Award finalists will be honored during the December 1-2 All-Industry Sustainability Summit at the Hilton Asheville Biltmore Park in Asheville, N.C.  The finalists will receive a complimentary registration to the Summit, and the winner will be announced at a special awards reception on December 1. 

The Sage Award is sponsored by the American Home Furnishings Alliance and Cargill’s BiOH polyols business. The organizations emphasize that applicants do not need to be AHFA members nor users of Cargill’s BiOH polyols to enter. Neither AHFA nor Cargill are represented on the judging panel, and this year the High Point-based accounting firm of Smith Leonard will tabulate the results.

In addition, the judging panel has been expanded to include experts both inside and outside the residential furniture industry. They include:  Ray Allegrezza, editor-in-chief of Furniture/Today; Mary Frye, president of Home Furnishings Independents Association; Heather Gadonniex, managing partner with MindClick SGM, a San Francisco-based consultancy specializing in sustainable business; and Leslie Guevarra, associate editor at Greener World Media, publisher of GreenBiz.com, GreenerBuildings.com and GreenerDesign.com.

Also, Susan Inglis, executive director of the Sustainable Furnishings Council; Robyn Griggs Lawrence, editor-in-chief of Natural Home magazine; Jean Nayer, former editor-in-chief of Woman’s Day Special Interest Magazines and author of “Green Living by Design”; Richard Prisco, professor of industrial design in the Department of Technology at Appalachian State University; Ryan Trainer, president of the International Sleep Products Association; and Steve Walker, assistant director of the Furniture Manufacturing and Management Center, North Carolina State University.

The American Home Furnishings Alliance, based in High Point, N.C., is the largest association of home furnishings companies in the world and represents more than 200 leading furniture manufacturers and distributors, plus about 150 suppliers to the furniture industry worldwide.


Furniture World Magazine-Business solutions for furniture retailers