Over 151 Years of Service to the Furniture Industry

 Furniture World Logo

Kathy Ireland To Host 2011 American Furniture Hall of Fame Banquet

Furniture World News on

Kathy Ireland, wife, mother, mentor and the CEO and chief designer of kathy ireland Worldwide (kiWW), a global design and marketing firm, will host the 23rd American Furniture Hall of Fame Induction Banquet on Oct. 23, 2011, at the High Point Market.

“Kathy is a leading home furnishings designer with over 25 different home furnishings product categories to her credit. She is very passionate about design and home furnishings,” says Kurt Darrow, Foundation president.  “Her knowledge and genuine love of the home furnishings industry and the hundreds of thousandsof people who have made the furniture industry great will make the evening memorable as we honor our new Industry Fellows and celebrate the accomplishments of these visionary leaders of our industry.”

“It is a true privilege to be a part of this wonderful event,” says Ireland. “Many ofthe industry leaders to be honored at the American Furniture Hall of Famebanquet share my company’s philosophy of ‘...finding solutions for families, especially busy moms’ and of ‘...finding solutions for people in business.’ I am proud to share in honoring those who have made the home furnishings industry what it is today.”

kathy ireland Worldwide designs and markets more than 45,000 SKU’s which are sold in more than 50 countries. With $1.5 billion in annual revenues at retail, kiWW was recently named as the “Top Woman Owned Business in America” by DiversityBusiness.com. Kathy is the recipient of the American Heritage Award, presented to her by the Anti Defamation League's National Home Furnishings Industry Division. kiWW products include home furnishings such as case goods, leather and upholstery. The company also designs and markets licensed products including flooring, rugs, lighting, decorative accessories, window coverings, top ofbed, fine jewelry, and apparel. 


Industry Fellows who will be recognized for their exceptional leadership, accomplishments and contributions to the furniture industry are Donald A. Belgrad, George Alexander Bernhardt, Donald G. Flanders, Sr., John C. Portman, Jr., Gordon Segal and Roy B. Unger. Inductees into the Hall of Fame also will be announced at the banquet.

The new slate of Industry Fellows was selected based on their contributions to the growth and development of the furniture industry in America including these standards:  enduring excellence, superior accomplishments, innovation and creativity, and philanthropic generosity. The voting period began July 8 and ended on August 5. 

The deadline for reservations is Oct. 3. Tickets are $125 each and can now be purchased online at http://furniturehalloffame.com/banquet_tickets.aspx. Reservations may also be made by sending an email tobanquet@furniturehalloffame.com or by contacting the Foundation office at336.882.5900. Checks should be mailed to the American Furniture Hall of FameFoundation, 202 Neal Place, High Point, NC  27262.

Furniture World Magazine-Business solutions for furniture retailers