Over 153 Years of Service to the Furniture Industry
 Furniture World Logo

New Officers Take Helm at NHFA

Furniture World News


Jerry Baer, Baer’s Furniture, Pompano Beach, Fla., took office January 1 as 2005 president of National Home Furnishings Association (NHFA). He succeeds Dennis Novosel, Stoney Creek Furniture, Stoney Creek, Ontario, Canada, who moves to the post of chairman of the executive committee. Senior vice presidents are Mary Ann Levitt, Breuners Arizona, Scottsdale, Ariz., and Wogan Badcock III, W.S. Badcock Corp., Mulberry, Fla. Doug Kays, Premiere Home Furnishings, West Los Angeles, Calif., assumes the post of treasurer. New directors are: Andrew Tepperman, Tepperman’s, Windsor, Ontario, Canada; Mark Dufresne, Dufresne Furniture & Appliance, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada; David Masin, Masin’s, Seattle, Wash; Ronny Bensimon, Dearden’s, Los Angeles, Calif.; Greg Follett, Follett’s Furniture, Lewiston, Idaho, and Jim McCullaugh, Domain Home Furnishings, Norwood, Mass. The new directors, who will serve one-year terms, join a coterie of seasoned directors who are serving longer terms. Baer is the 82nd president of the 85-year old trade organization serving retailers in all 50 states, Canada and abroad. A seasoned volunteer leader in the home furnishings industry, he has served as president and chairman of Florida Home Furnishings Association, an NHFA affiliate, and board member and treasurer of the national organization. Baer is senior vice president of sales for his company which operates 14 stores in the state of Florida, including units in Fort Lauderdale, Boca Raton, Davie, West Palm Beach, Fort Myers, Miami, and Orlando. Additional stores are slated to open in 2005. Jerry represents the third generation in the 59-year-old family business.