Over 152 Years of Service to the Furniture Industry

 Furniture World Logo

Greater New York Home Furnishings Association Golf Outing Sponsors Million Dollar Contest

Furniture World News on

During the  Greater New York Home Furnishings Association's  recent Golf Outing , Keith Seigerman GNYHFA's  President was awarded the Meadoff Award For Sportsmanship.

This coveted award, instituted by the late Hal Meadoff in honor of his father A.S. Meadoff, is presented most years at the Greater New York Home Furnishings Association outing. The Memorial  Award has been perpetuated by Hal's children and is now  known as the "Meadoff Memorial Award for Sportsmanship".  Sportsmanship does not signify skill or performance. It has to do  with a person’s life-style behavior, sense of fair play and  fair-mindedness. Personal relationships in the industry, social consciousness and support of   humane and philanthropic causes are attributes carefully considered by the awards committee. These  were the characteristics that Sam Meadoff had, that made him so revered by his peers. Former recipients meet each year to review and choose  an individual to receive this honor (see photos below). The Award  For  Sportsmanship is one of the most coveted Awards in our Industry, since it is the "person" not merely a position or title  being recognized.

In addition, good weather made for an excellent day of golf and good company made for a fine dinner following the day's activities.

This year,  the Association sponsored the JetBlue Challenge competition that offers a number of valuable prizes including the chance to win $1 million in cash.

The winner of this year's JetBlue Challenge was Bill Frazier, from Corporate -Bassett Mirror. He is still in the running for the million dollar prize. The other finalists in the JetBlue Challenge -Closest to the Pin-were, Gary Starr, Rick DePalma and Sandeep Chugani.

In addition, the following awards were presented including two awards for "most honest team". It seems that there are lots of honest golfers in the Greater New York area. Who knew?

First Place Team
Norman Waxman
Murray Engle
Tony Bellarosa
John Solimine
Second Place Team
Darren Gordon
Conrad Gordon
Len Telesca
Mike Egan
Longest Drive
Andy Gans
Most Honest Team's
Roy Praeger
Greg Straino
Mike Serota
Jordan Greenberg
Gail Meadoff
Rick DePalma
Kevin Warnke


Former  Recipients of The Meadoff Award  For  Sportsmanship:
1942- Sam Shapiro
1943- Harry Michaels
1944- Charles Seidenman
1945- Arthur Stengel
1946- Sol Edelman
1947- Jess Shlivek
1948- Fred Daum
1949- Jack Melniker
1950- Louis Ferraguzzi
1951- Irving Sherman
1952- John Jaffin
1953- Carl Bryant
1954- Irv Baldinger
1955- Ed Morrisey
1956- Sam Handel
1957- Henry Shaeffer
1958- Sam Reiner
1959- Charles Shaughnessey
1960- William Sachs
1961- Joe Fontana
1962- Herb Kimless
1963- Ed Frank
1964- Sandy Bienenstock
1965- Sam Faeder
1966- Walter Engel
1967- Sol Gerwin
1968- Frank Katz
1969- Bill Floegel
1970- Billy Martin
1971- Nat Ancell
1972- Jack Siegel
1973- Burt Pordes
1974- Bob Stengel
1975- Richard Sachs
1976- Harry Krosner
1977- Morris Muster
1978- Sam Schwat
1979- Milton Goodman
1980- Mike Massood
1981- Frank O'Connor
1982- Stanley Rosenberg
1983- Hal Meadoff
1984- Lee Corson
1985- Harvey Gleberman
1986- Norman Waxman
1987- Barton Bienenstock
1988- Lou Nagelsmith
1990- David Druckman
1992- Russell Bienenstock
1993- George Massood
1994- Gary Zuckerman
1995- Marty Herman
1996- Joe Cory
1998- Jim Druckman
1999- Gail Meadoff
2000- Andy Gans
2001- Arthur Koch
2002- Mickey Talkov
2003- Seymour Fineman
2004 -Louis Massood
2005- Keith Seigerman



Furniture World Magazine-Business solutions for furniture retailers