Over 150 Years of Service to the Furniture Industry

 Furniture World Logo

Atlanta La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries Store Owner Named Father Of The Year

Furniture World News on

Some people know Bob Breunig as an NFL football player, others know him as a successful business man and owner of the Atlanta La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries stores, but Breunig’s family knows him as the “Father of the Year.” The Father of the Year Awards Committee recently recognized Bob Breunig as one of the three 2006 Father of the Year honorees in Dallas. The Father of the Year Award was established in 1976 by Dallas men’s apparel legend Sylvan Landau to honor exceptional fathers for their dedication to family life and community service. In 31 years, the Father of the Year Award has honored the contributions and accomplishments of more than 96 Dallas-Fort Worth area business and community leaders, who also are great dads. A luncheon was held on May 12 in Dallas to recognize the 2006 honorees and raise funds for eleven local charities. “It’s humbling to be recognized with this award, knowing there are thousands of dads that are worthy of the title ‘Father of the Year,’” said Bob Breunig, owner of the Atlanta La-Z-Boy Furniture Galleries. “The best part of being ‘Father of the Year’ is that we are able to support needy local charities and raise awareness for them at the same time.” Attendees of this year’s Father of the Year luncheon helped raise more than $120,000 for Ronald McDonald House of Dallas, Children’s Medical Center of Dallas, Cook Children’s Medical Center of Fort Worth, East Dallas Community School, Happy Hill Farm Academy/Home, Special Olympics Texas, Texans Can!, Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children, Urban Alternative, The Gladney Center for Adoption and St. Philips Episcopal School and Community Center. “Bob is a wonderful father who is not only dedicated to his children but also to the community. We are proud to have him as a member of the La-Z-Boy family,” said Steve Matlock, senior vice president of sales and marketing for La-Z-Boy. Breunig was joined by his wife, Mary, daughter, Katherine, and three sons, Robert Jr., Bart and Ben to celebrate the honor at the award luncheon. Past Father of the Year award recipients include: George W. Bush, Roger Staubach, Charlie Pride, Tom Landry, Trammell Crow, H. Ross Perot Sr., Morton H. Meyerson, Ray Nasher, Ron Kirk, Bob Bolen, and Calvin Hill. Headquartered in Monroe, Mich., La-Z-Boy is North America’s largest manufacturer of upholstered furniture and the world’s leading producer of reclining chairs. It is a division of La-Z-Boy Incorporated.

Furniture World Magazine-Business solutions for furniture retailers