Over 150 Years of Service to the Furniture Industry

 Furniture World Logo

American Furniture Hall of Fame Elects Officers & Directors

Furniture World News on

The Board of Directors of the American Furniture Hall of Fame Foundation Inc. has elected new officers for 2008-2009 and directors for a six year term, 2008-2014. New officers are Donald Belgrad, president, Schnadig Corporation; Donald C. Marks, first vice president, Badcock Home Furniture & more; Alex Bernhardt, Jr., second vice president, Bernhardt Furniture Company; and Donald D. Dreher, secretary-treasurer, DMI Furniture, Inc. J. Don Coleman, Hickory Springs Manufacturing Company, will serve a one year term as outgoing president. Directors serving an additional six-year term are Cary Benson, Natuzzi Americas, Inc.; Gerry Borregine, Therapedic Inc.; Jeff Cook, Broyhill Furniture Industries; Kevin O’Connor, Samson Marketing; Caroline Hipple, HB2 Resources. “Based on a new strategic plan adopted by the Board, we are moving forward with an aggressive, very solid, long range plan to expand our membership and increase the historical impact of the organization,” says Don Belgrad, president of Schnadig Corp. and new AFHF. ”Included are plans to make our oral interviews more accessible, both in a digital oral format and through beautiful printed books, as well as providing other services that are relevant to our industry, educational institutions and various sectors of the general public.” The American Furniture Hall of Fame Foundation is open to all home furnishings industry companies, organizations and individuals that do business in the United States. Membership includes eligibility to vote for inductees into the American Furniture Hall of Fame, and the opportunity to help preserve the history and heritage of the industry. Memberships are $500 at the individual level, and $1,000 at the corporate level. All contributions are tax deductible. Checks should be made payable to American Furniture Hall of Fame Foundation Inc. and sent to P.O. Box 2011, High Point, N.C. 27261. The 2008 inductees – individuals who have made significant contributions to the growth and development of the U.S. furniture industry – will be honored with the American furniture industry’s highest honor at a gala banquet on October 21 at the High Point Market. For information, call 336.882.5900. The American Furniture Hall of Fame Foundation Inc. is an international, industry-wide effort organized to research, collect and preserve the cultural, economic and artistic history of the industry. In addition, each year individuals whose outstanding achievements have contributed to the continued growth and development of the U.S. furniture industry are inducted into the American Furniture Hall of Fame. The organization is based in High Point at 202 Neal Place, and can be reached at 336.882. 5900.

Furniture World Magazine-Business solutions for furniture retailers