Over 150 Years of Service to the Furniture Industry

 Furniture World Logo

Finalists Named In 2008 Pinnacle Design Achievement Award Competition

Furniture World News on

The American Society of Furniture Designers (ASFD) and their judging panel selected finalists for the 2008 Pinnacle Design Achievement Award. An unprecedented number of applications were submitted for this year, signaling an ever increasing commitment to the designers' role in the home furnishings business. ASFD saw applications rise in all categories, as well as increasing diversity and innovation in product submissions. The judging panel met in High Point University's Norton Hall for the full day to determine finalist for the awards. Judges participating were, Dr. Richard Bennington High Point University; Steve Walker, North Carolina State; Max Shangle, Kendall College; Julie Smith, Furniture Style; Jo Fleisher, Home Furnishings Business; Terry Allen, Industry Expert; Daren K. Konig, City Furniture; Rhonda Wolf, Havertys; Judith Cushman Hammer, University of North Carolina at Greensboro; and Jackie Hirschhaut, American Home Furnishings Alliance. Pinnacle Awards winners will be announced at a Gala Dinner event Monday October 20 at the Natuzzi showroom building on Commerce Street in High Point. The event will be guest hosted by HGTV's Nancy Glass and Furniture/Today’s Ray Allegrezza. Early reservations are suggestions for this limited seating event. Pinnacle Finalists by Category (not in order of selection) Major Collections - Ethan Allen New Horizon Paul Rosebrock/Craig Stout - Century Metro Luxe William Faber - Berhardt Cascade Clark/Binns/Lehman Stationary Upholstery - Rene Casares Ari Sofa Rene Cazares - Bernhardt Cadden Cutaway Brown/Culler/Galli - Century Natural Craig Staton Motion Upholstery - Klausser Savoy Rick Hendrix - American Leather Spinnaker Louis Lara - Couture Jazz Normand Coture Leather Upholstery - David Francis Bordeaux David Francis - Century Stilleto Joe Mallison - Elite Candemir Nathan Turner Bedroom - Box Collection Generation Opstal/Basyroel - Lexington Zacara Troy Hollis - Century Stainless Bed William Faber Casual Dining - Lexington Long Cove Aulbert/Patton - Brown Jordan Campaign John Caldwell - Phillips Origins Nikom Formal Dining - Stanley Continuuim hokanson/Schroeder - aspenhome Potomac Hall/Lena - Scott Thomas New Vienna Scott Hamed Home Office - Sligh Palm Beach Warren/Lookabill - Century Ebony Desk/Credenza David Zagaroli - Maitland Smith Map Desk Glenn Yelvington Juvenile - Green Frog Mod Frog 11 Kelly Neal Mariotti - Q Collection Stella Stackables Jonsara Ruth - Q Collection Celestial Crib Jonsara Ruth Lighting - Murray Feiss Ribbon Lamp Kauffman/Hannoosh - Murray Feiss Silver Glass Kauffman/Hannoosh - Hubbardton Forge Dyad Tale Lamp Accessories - Phillips Collection Origins Wall Decor Nikom - Phillips Collection River Rock Planters Jason Phillips - Phillips Collection Stella Nikom Entertainment - Century Ash Credenza Eric Graham - aspenhome Adagio Entertainment Neilson/Levi - Klaussner New Horizons Chris Rayle Occasional Tables - Palliser Bar Box Futhark - aspenhome Adagio Tables Neilson/Levi - Ethan Allen Wire Form Table Rosebrock/Stout Occasional Storage - Brastilo Console Katie Hatch - Brastilo Bench with Tray Katie Hatch - Four Hands Copenhagen Sidebd Anna Ogden Summer Casual - Gloster Symphony John Caldwell - Century Orient Richard Frinier - Selemat Stratus Jarrod Lim

Furniture World Magazine-Business solutions for furniture retailers