Over 151 Years of Service to the Furniture Industry

 Furniture World Logo

ASFD Announces 2010 Pinnacle Awards Finalists

Furniture World News on

Pinnacle Awards Judges

The American Society of Furniture Designers announced that the Pinnacle  judges met at High Point University's Norton Hall for a full day late last month to select the finalists for the 15th Annual ASFD Pinnacle Design Achievement Awards. 
“We were thrilled and gratified by the quantity and quality of entries for this year’s competition,” said Dudley Moore, chairman of ASFD’s Pinnacle Committee. “In particular, the entries in this year’s inaugural Green Leaf category were impressive,  and can only be described as ‘really cool’.  I want to thank this year’s judges for an outstanding job, as well as ASFD President Steve Hodges, and Executive Director Christine Evans, who presided over the judging.”
This judges were Dr. Richard Bennington, High Point University; Gary Evans, Furniture/Today;  Ellen Gefen, Gefen Productions;  Jim Hering, HW Home; Jackie Hirschhaut, AHFA; Sheila Long O'Mara, Home Furnishings Business; Linda Longo, Home Lighting & Accessories,  Chuck Portaro, Furnitureland South;  Dianne Ray, Garden City Furniture; Max Shangle, Kendall College of Art & Design; Julie Smith, Nine Muses Media; and Ron Werner, HW Home.
Furniture/Today serves as the Major Underwriter of the 2010 Pinnacle Awards.  Editor in chief, Ray Allegrezza will serve as emcee at the Pinnacle Awards banquet during Market on Monday evening, October 18 at the IHFC  ballroom where the winners will be announced.
Pinnacle Sponsorships are held by Continental Brass,  Earth Care Inside,  Furniture Design Studios,  Hickory Springs Mfg.,  High Point Market Authority,  Home Furnishings Business, Home Lighting & Accessories, International Home Furnishings Center (IHFC), Leggett & Platt; Market Square and Suites and the Sustainable Furnishings Council.
For Pinnacle banquet tickets this October in High Point, NC, contact Christine Evans, ASFD executive director at 910.576.1273 or by email
The 2010 Pinnacle Awards Finalists in each Category are listed here in alphabetical order. 

Occasional Tables
Bird’s Nest: John T. Kolkka, ASFD for Kolkka Furniture
Colors: Berry & Clark Design Associates for Hammary
Modern Craftsman: Richard Schroeder, ASFD; Denis Kissane, ASFD Gary Hokanson for Stanley Furniture
Occasional Storage
Driftwood Bombe Chest: Glenn Yelvington for Maitland-Smith
Lexicon Chest on Stand: Shaun Melvin, ASFD for Baker Furniture
Mybar: F. Doruk Yorgancioglu, Megan Perry for Dorya
Juvenile Furniture
Lily: Matthew Hurley, ASFD for Hooker Furniture Corporation
Spectrum Collection: Benjamin Noriega-Ortiz for The Phillips Collection
Young Classics: Jena Hall, ASFD; Stephanie Lena, ASFD; Brent Camfferman for aspenhome
Casual Dining
Bungalow Baby: Jena Hall, ASFD; Stephanie Lena, ASFD; Brent Camfferman for aspenhome
Havana: Phyllis Bridgeman for Hekman Furniture
Mango Bay: Tim L. Annas, ASFD for Kincaid Furniture Co., Inc.
Formal Dining
European Legacy: Chris Bergelin, ASFD for Hekman Furniture
Ferron Court: Les Killian, Jesse Schopmeyer,ASFD;Gary Huffstetler for Broyhill Home Furnishings
Wellington Court: Chris Bergelin,  ASFD; Thad Bergelin for Century Furniture
Motion Upholstery
Paramount: Albert Choy for Moroni Inc.
Theo: Jack Lewis, ASFD; Gary VanderWood, ASFD for Palliser Furniture
WELCOME  Sofa: Normand Couture, ASFD for Couture International
Stationary Upholstery
Fairmont Lounge Chair: David Francis for David Francis Furniture
Meyer: Amy Archer for American Leather
Perou Chaise: Rene Cazares, Richard Cazares for rcfurniture
Leather Upholstery
Addison: Rick Lee for American Leather
ENSEMBLE Bed: Normand Couture, ASFD for Couture International
Lugano: Michael A. Galardo, Michael Felix Galardo, ASFD for Elite Leather Company

Burled Bowl: Jason Phillips, ASFD for The Phillips Collection
Hand Dipped Pears: Julie Phillips for The Phillips Collection
Wave Perch: Marty Watts for Urban Pet Haus

Antasia: David Martin, ASFD; David Kitts, ASFD; George Chandler, ASFD for Hubbardton Forge
Arieal Lamp: Catherine Smoak, ASFD for AF Lighting
UP Lamps: Nakarin Kamseela for The Phillips Collection
Home Office
Bungalow Baby: Ken Levi, ASFD; Andy Nielsen, ASFD for aspenhome
Greenwich Street Secretary: Paul Galli, Jason Culler, Rosma Gutierrez for Bernhardt Furniture Company
Sequel Collection: Matthew Weatherly for BDI
Entertainment Centers
Great Rooms: Abigail Eaton, ASFD; Dudley Moore, Jr., ASFD for Universal Furniture
Laredo: Mike Warren, ASFD; Shannon Lookabill for Sligh Furniture Company
STAX: Tommy McDaniel, ASFD; Scott Coley, ASFD for Bassett

Cabo Lounge Chair: Norman Coley, Bobby Gantt for Lee Industries., Inc.
South Beach: Richard Frinier, ASFD for Century Furniture
WOW: Normand Couture, ASFD for Couture Jardin

Hilo Collection: David Francis for David Francis Furniture
Louis XVI Bed: Clare Heyboer for Kindel Furniture Co.
Wellington Court: Chris Bergelin, ASFD; Thad Bergelin for Century Furniture
Major Collections
Forecast: Berry & Clark Design Associates for Pennsylvania House Brand
Sanctuary: Tracey Gibson for Hooker Furniture
Tribeca: Chris Bergelin, ASFD; Thad Bergelin for Century Furniture
Green Leaf Award
Bird’s Nest Cocktail: John T. Kolkka, ASFD for Kolkka Furniture
Bjorn Chair: Joe Greene, ASFD for C.R. Laine Furniture Company
Ondrian Lamps: David Kitts, ASFD; David Martin, ASFD; George Chandler, ASFD for Hubbardton Forge

Furniture World Magazine-Business solutions for furniture retailers